Skip to content

May 15, 2012

The Flames of Fitnah

by Simple Muslimah

بسم الله الرحمن الرحيم

As much as I would love to claim that it were so, Muslims do not live in some kind of parallel universe where everything is rosy and easy for everyone at all times.

Just because we strive to avoid what our deen teaches us are the perils and pitfalls of this world, that does not mean we are automatically immune from them. A Muslim is still a human being, by nature vulnerable to the temptations, desires and all that glitters of this dunya. The difference between a Muslim and a disbeliever is therefore not one of being immune, but one of refusing to succumb for the sake of pleasing Allah. Truly, for the Muslim the trials of this world are many, but never greater than the One who – when called upon – forgives all transgressions, even those numerous enough to reach the skies…

The Flames of Fitnah

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

No one seems to notice

No one seems to care

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

Wherever I turn

The fires burn.

There is no escape –

Even home, is no longer safe

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

If its sparks do not singe me

Then surely its soot sullies me

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

The dark tendrils of its smoke reach out

Seeking to smother my heart

And extinguish its light

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

And my heart is tinder –

I fear that it will catch alight,

Burn to a cinder

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

And we are like moths to a candle – alluring, mesmerising, irresistible.

How many have already

Raced to their destruction!

I fear that I

Will follow in their direction

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

And it has burnt me

Scarred me

Left me wounded

Wondering whether

This hurt will ever heal

And I would be

As I once was

 

The whole world is ablaze

With the flames of fitnah

And I have – as of yet – no shield to protect me against it.

My only hope

Is that the soothing embrace

Of His Mercy

Will envelop me

Heal me

Restore me

رَبِّ إِنِّي

ظَلَمْتُ نَفْسِي

فَاغْفِرْ لِي

(28: 16)

Read more from Creative

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments